VCMC Members

Council consists of up to ten members appointed by Governor in Council on the basis of their skills, experience and knowledge of land protection, water resource management, primary industries, environmental protection, conservation and local government.

Alana Johnson VCMC Chair

Alana Johnson AM (Chair)

  • Director, Goulburn Murray Water
  • President, Voices for Indi
  • Former Director, Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation
  • Founding Member, Australian Women in Agriculture
  • Principal, Lurg Cattle Co.
  • Landcare member since 1986
  • Graduate, Australian Rural Leadership Program
  • Graduate, Australian Institute of Company Directors
  • Social Scientist and PhD Candidate, Monash University
Rohan Henry VCMC Member

Dr Rohan Henry

  • Manager Land and Waters at Bunurong Land Council Aboriginal Corporation
  • Experienced project manager, environmental impact assessments and approvals
  • Bachelor of Science (Honours) and a Doctor of Philosophy
  • Member, Water for Victoria, Water for Country – Project Control Group
  • Member, Point Nepean National Park Management Advisory Committee
  • Member, Rock Lobster Fisher Resource Assessment Group
  • Past member, Central Region Sustainable Water Strategy Review
Kristen Jackson VCMC Member

Kristen Jackson

  • Manager of Active Communities, Cardinia Shire Council
  • World Urban Parks Board member and Chair Healthy Parks Healthy Cities Committee
  • Keen interest in both environment and park and recreation management with prior experience on the National Board of Parks and Leisure Australia
  • Former Manager Sustainability Planning for the City of Whittlesea
  • Qualifications in planning, environment management and management
  • Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors’ Course
Joan Liley VCMC Member

Joan Liley

  • Member, Water Plan Reference Group
  • Member, Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability Reference Group
  • Former Chair, South Gippsland Water
  • Former Deputy Chair, West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority
  • South Gippsland beef producer
  • Bachelor of Commerce, Graduate Diploma Education
  • Fellow, Australian Institute of Company Directors
Kirsten Shelly VCMC Member

Dr Kirsten Shelly

  • Manager of Catchment and Water Quality in Melbourne Water where she is responsible for setting the vision and strategic direction for the quality of catchments and waterways, drinking water, stormwater and sewerage
  • Bachelor of Science with honours and a Doctor of Philosophy
  • Previously has been a senior policy adviser in water portfolios
  • Former Director of Water Strategies for the Queensland Water Commission.
Helen Vaughan VCMC Member

Helen Vaughan

  • Deputy Secretary, Water and Catchments Group, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
  • Former Regional Director, south-west Victoria
  • Extensive experience in New South Wales and Victoria in policy, research and policy implementation roles focused mainly on natural resource and emergency management
  • BSc(Forestry) from Australian National University
  • Focus on developing constructive relationships with stakeholders and staff to ensure that priorities are well worked through and better outcomes achieved
  • Bringing different people together to gain different perspectives to develop robust approaches is a strength

VCMC Secretariat


  • Neil Meyers, Research and Policy Co-ordinator
  • Tracey Koper, Project and Administration Officer

Privacy Collection Statement - gift offers privacy collection statement

Gifts, benefits and hospitality overview

Gifts, benefits and hospitality VCMC policy

Register of responses to reportable gift offers (please note there is nothing listed on the register at this stage)